Burn Safe Logo
Prevention ForcastStatistics Publications Links

Tennessee Wildfire Information

Information on the Chimney Tops 2 and Cobbly Nob fires near Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountains National Park can be found at:
Chimney Tops 2 Fire Facebook Page

Inciweb Incident Management Information system:
- Chimney Tops 2 fire
- Cobbly Nob fire

For emergency management information, visit:
Tennessee Emergency Management Agency

Returning Home After a Wildfire
Once a wildfire has burned through an area, many dangers remain. The guide provides a checklist of precautions to consider when returning home.

Daily Fire Report - This is a report of recent fires responded to by the Tennessee Department of Agriculture Division of Forestry.

Air Quality Forecasting (TDEC)

Public Service Announcements:  Your Fire is Your Responsibility

U.S Drought Monitor

Burn Ban Information

Burnban

There are currently 47 counties under the Governor’s Burn Ban. Seventeen of those counties continue to be under a TN Department of Agriculture Commissioner’s Burn Ban and are superceded by the Governor’s ban. Both burn bans apply to open-air burning and includes a prohibition of campfires, and burning of brush, vegetation, and construction debris. Generally, the burn ban does NOT apply to cooking grills and other similar lighted devices that are well established in a confined, protected area away from woodlands. However the disposal of hot grill ashes or coals can be a fire hazard. Grill ashes should be completely cool or better yet, wet, before disposal in all cases. A violation of a burn ban is punishable as a Class A misdemeanor which carries a fine of $2,500 and/or up to 11 months, 29 days in jail.

Residents in counties not included under any of the current bans must obtain a safe debris burning permit to burn brush or vegetation. The TDA Division of Forestry, however, does not expect to issue any permits until the state receives substantial precipitation. A violation of burning without a permit is punishable as a Class C misdemeanor which carries a fine of $50 and/or up to 30 days in jail.

Counties under a regional burn ban:
Anderson, Bledsoe, Blount, Bradley, Campbell, Cannon, Carter, Claiborne, Clay, Cocke, Cumberland, Dekalb, Fentress, Franklin, Grainger, Greene, Grundy, Hamblen, Hamilton, Hancock, Hawkins, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Knox, Loudon, Macon, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Overton, Pickett, Putnam, Rhea, Roane, Scott, Sequatchie, Sevier, Smith, Sullivan, Trousdale, Unicoi, Union, Van Buren, Warren, Washington, White

Follow Us On

YouTube Facebook Twitter YouTube

Burn Permit
Fire Prevention
How to Protect your home from wildfire.
Fire Danger News Daily Fire Report
Meeting the Challenge Tennessee Wildfire Laws
Footer